Logotipo NIPE


Conferences and Workshops



Gualtar Campus | EEG


Start28.09.2017 08:30End29.09.2017 18:00

Event summary

The Economic Policies Research Unit (NIPE) is organizing the 14th PEARL Workshop, with the support of the UNU-EGOV (United Nations University – Operating Unit on Policy-Driven Electronic Governance). The workshop will be held at the University of Minho, in Braga, Portugal, on September 28 and 29, 2017.

PEARL is a network of researchers and research institutions that operate in the field of applied public economics and public finance. The main focus of the network is on the subnational level of government, which includes studying the relationships with local, state, or federal institutions. The idea of PEARL is to gather various kinds of expertise both from different countries and from different fields of economic analysis (econometrics, public finance and public choice, local and regional economics, macroeconomics). Comparative analyses and transversal studies will be appreciated.

Some subjects of interest are listed below:
– State and local taxation, revenue and intergovernmental grants.
– State and local government spending.
– Status of regions in fiscal federalism.
– Regional economic activity.
– Regional and local government analysis.
– State and local politics, the economic role of political institutions.
– Vertical and horizontal tax competition.
– Local public goods.
– E-government and e-participation at the local and regional level.

NIPE and the UNU-EGOV will cover the expenses for accommodation and meals during the workshop for the authors whose papers have been accepted. In the case of a joint paper, only one author will be covered for the above-mentioned expenses. Travel expenses are covered by the participants themselves.

Scientific committee:
Thierry Madiès, University of Fribourg, Switzerland
Fabio Padovano, University of Rennes 1, France
Yvon Rocaboy, University of Rennes 1, France
Francisco Veiga, University of Minho, Portugal
Linda Veiga, University of Minho, Portugal

Local organizing committee:
Linda Veiga, University of Minho and UNU-EGOV, Portugal
Francisco Veiga, University of Minho, Portugal